Okay, so you’ve recently found out that you need to avoid yeast. But you’re wondering about alcohol. You like the odd glass of wine with an evening meal. Who doesn’t? You’ve heard that drinks such as bear have yeast in them, but what about wine or other alcoholic drinks?
Well, the good news is, it’s very unlikely that any commercial bottled wine has yeast in it. If it still had any yeast in it, then it would start to ferment again, it would turn cloudy, taste horrible, and possibly even the cork could end up being pushed out. This is different to beer, which does contain yeast and should therefore be avoided if following such a diet.
You see, the thing is, when wine is made, although it is initially fermented using yeast, it is refined to take away any dead yeast cells once the fermentation process has completed. This is the reason why wines you buy in the shop look clear when you pour them into your glass. All of the other remains of the fermentation process have been removed.
The same rule applies to spirits, such as vodka, whisky, gin, etc. The yeast is removed as part of the process by which they are made, so by consuming them you should still be okay with your yeast-free regime.
However, if you are still unsure as to whether or not you should drink wine or other alcoholic beverages when adhering to a special nutritional regime, it is best to consult your doctor or healthcare practitioner.